Home > Garlic > Garlic – Some planted and some shoots showing today

Garlic – Some planted and some shoots showing today


Well, Garlic is up already in less than a week. It’s only been 6 days I can see several shoots coming up. Amazing.

Our Alabama extension service says we can plant garlic up till February. Hopefully this will turn out.

I peeled it, soaked it in baking soda, and planted it, most on 1/23/2011.

Then… I had a few cloves leftover. They had a rough life. After the baking soda soak, I left it on the counter for 2 days, then I felt bad and soaked it in plain water because I wanted to plant it but was busy with home and work. Then I took it out, dried it overnight, and planted it anyway. Some still looked fine and had roots trying to develop. Some looked a little dry on the bottom. We’ll see. I put them in a container I don’t really plan to care for much. They are on their own.

Categories: Garlic
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

