Home > Figs, Fruit Trees > New Fig Tree Cuttings arrived – Violette De Bordeaux

New Fig Tree Cuttings arrived – Violette De Bordeaux


My fig cuttings have arrived from Encanto Farms in NJ. I ordered my fig cuttings from probably the most famous fig grower in the fig world. He collectively sells over 300 varieties of Figs, and only once a year sells cuttings, and sells out every time. Figs can be grown “easily” by taking cuttings from a parent plant, and kept moist for 2-3 weeks, and they will sprout roots and then grow into a new plant.   I’ve got 4 cuttings of a Violette De Bordeaux Fig, that I will try to turn into some fig trees.

I tried a wet paper towel in plastic bag method last time and it didn’t work, the cuttings molded and rotted. This time I will try a Peat Moss Perlite Mix to keep the bottom moist and in somewhat soil material.

Check out my new Page above on my current Fig Trees – https://yardatwork.wordpress.com/fruits-grown/fig-trees/

Fig Cuttings Source -http://encantofarms.com/

Violette De Bordeaux Fig – “Black fig with dark red flesh and rich flavor.”

image

My VDB Cuttings arrived

VdB fig Example

Categories: Figs, Fruit Trees Tags:
  1. September 22, 2011 at 10:52 am

    I tried the perlite and 2″x8″ plastic bag method with notches in bottom of bag to let out excess water. Had great luck with that. Had all cuttings stored upright in a plastic bucket with lid left askew for ventillation. I also did some test bags of cuttings wrapped in wetted newspaper and placed in plastic bags. Good success with those as well. I first, soaked the cuttings in a 2% bleach and water solution to kill any bacteria and potential mold spores. I then rinsed them off after about a minute and wrapped them in newspaper. Supposedl newspaper assists in the retardation of mold as well.

    In any event . . . I had excess moisture problems from time to time in the bag in bucket method, and whould have to rinse off and wipe down some of the cuttings. I experienced very little loss until I transplanted to pots and potting mix . . I have experienced over 90% loss with only 5 viable plants to date. Oddly enough . . 3 of the cuttings are Marseille vs Black, and I had tried to root them in a pot. They had been sitting out for several months in a protected spot and looked to be dead. I scratched the skin on the cuttings and there was still green underneath, so I rinsed them off and rooted them in the newspaper and bag method. 3 of the 4 cutting are doing great.

    I’ll be back in for more cutting this coming february
    Hopefully I can lay my hands on some violette de bordeaux and Bayernfeige Violetta

    Jeff

    • Jason
      September 22, 2011 at 11:06 am

      The bleach idea is great to combat the mold. My first 2 cuttings I attempted from a Celeste were lost to mold in the wet wrap closed bag method. I really liked the straight soil (with peat and perlite) method though, I didn’t have to do anything other than water it, and didn’t have to transplant the delicate roots once it leafed out. It even survived my 2 year of son yanking one or two out and some delicate repotting.
      In some previous searching of what would do well and how to root, I seem to remember that Marseille vs Black was harder to root than most, I don’t think you’re alone there.
      I got my figs from Encanto Farms. I had requested a VdB but he was sold out – he offered as a replacement “Vista (VdB by DNA test at USDA) that I can send, which is my best performer.” Was catalog # 4004.
      Still a year away from tasting the fruit but all the cuttings are doing great. I gave one away after it leafed out and have 3 VdBs that are putting out shoots and leaves. I need to include some new pictures of them in a new post before they drop their leaves.

  2. August 24, 2014 at 5:20 am

    These factors mold and manipulate the shape and cross-section’the structure’of the jet stream.
    You will need to mix a cup of it in a gallon of water and then scrub the affected area two or three times until all the traces of
    mold have been removed. Come to think of it, vinegar is specifically made
    for cooking and flavoring, not for molds.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

